We use in-text citations for all the same reasons we use references. The important difference is that in-text citations are found in the body of your work, while references are found in the list at the end of your work.
In-text citations are used to point out to the reader exactly which pieces of information, ideas, thoughts images etc. were created by someone else.
This is a requirement of the IB (Academic Integrity). It is also the ethical and moral thing to do and helps us to avoid plagiarism and copyright infringements.
Also - Using in-text citations helps your teachers to see that you have done the research and understood the information, giving your work more weight!
Chicago uses two types of citations:
This page will only be discussing the Notes and Bibliography Style.
To cite a source using Chicago style Notes and Bibliography, you need to place a superscript number, beginning with 1; at the end of a sentence or clause, after all the punctuation. This superscript number then corresponds to a numbered footnote in the footer at the bottom of that page, or endnote in the footer at the bottom of the final page, where you include the reference note for the resource as found in the Reference List at the end of your work. The next citation gets the next superscript number. No matter which page it is on, the numbers continue un sequence. NOTE: If you use the 'Insert Footnote' function in your document, this process should be reasonable easy.
There are two types of notes: Full Notes or Short Notes.
The first time you refer to a resource you include a Full Notes which gives the author's name(s) and the title of the text with the publication details in parentheses. This can vary according to source type. If you quote a source or refer to information from a specific passage from a source that has an unchangeable location indicator, include the page number or location.
Subsequent footnotes for the same resource take Short Note form. Short notes only include the author(s), title and location information in the format seen in the final Bibliography. Titles of longer than 4 words can be shortened, but must retain the keywords to be easily recognizable.
NOTE: Footnotes do NOT use Hanging indents, only Bibliographies do.
According to IB Requirements, you must include the Bibliography at the end of your work.
Full Note
Biedermann noted the difficulties of attributing dragons as representations of dinosaurs from the Mesozoic era.1;
1. Hans Biedermann, Dictionary of Symbolism : Cultural Icons and the Meanings behind Them (New York, NY: Meridan Book, 1994) 102.
Short Note
Dragons are "always portrayed as reptilian" although there are a wide range of reptiles influencing the different portrayals.2;
2. Beidermann, Dictionary of Symbolism, 102
Bibliography
In cases where you want to include a quote or paraphrase from an author that is quoted by another author, it is much better to locate the original source and quote/cite this directly. If you cannot locate the original source, you can use the secondary source, but you must make it clear that you are using a secondary source by including both sources in your citation.
"Is it possible that dragons posed a problem for our protohuman ancestors of a few million years ago, and that the terror they evoked and the deaths they caused helped bring about the evolution of human intelligence?"6
Full Note
6. Carl Sagan, The Dragons of Eden : Speculations on the Evolution of Human Intelligence. (Black Dog & Leventhal Publishers, 1977), 149. Quoted in Robert Blust, “The Origin of Dragons,” Anthropos 95, no. 2 (2000): 519–36, https://www.jstor.org/stable/40465957.
Bibliography
When the author of a your source is unknown, use the title to start the citation in the Full Note. In the Short Note and the Bibliography, use the name of the organization that published the resource as the author
Full Note
Dragons in medieval European literature are usually shown with wings and breathing fire, while Asian dragons typically have no wings.3;
3. “Dragon,” Britannica School, January 8, 2024, https://school.ebonline.com/levels/middle/article/dragon/274056.
Short Note
3. Britannica School, "Dragon," 2024.
Bibliography
Britannica School. “Dragon.” Encyclopedia Britannica, January 8, 2024. Britannica School. https://school.ebonline.com/levels/middle/article/dragon/274056.
If there are multiple authors, list the first three authors with a comma and then the word 'and' between. If there are more than three authors, list the first author only followed by 'et al.' In Full Notes use both first and surnames. In Short Notes use only surnames.
In the Bibliography, list up to 10 authors. If there are more than 10, list the first 7 and then use 'et al.'
Full Note
Shuker and Morris base their description of Babylonian Ishtar's guard dragon on images portrayed in ancient mosaic bas-reliefs.4
4. Karl Shuker and Dennis Morris, Dragons : A Natural History (Köln ; London: Taschen, 2006).
Full Note
"Dragons are not just the mightiest of foes, they are the original foe."5
5. Adam L Brackin et al., An Unexpected Journal: Dragons: Summer 2022, vol. 5, Issue 2 (Houston, TX: An Unexpected Journal, 2022), 5.
Bibliography
When you are using the Footnote / Bibliography style for in-text citations, this is not a problem as you use name the author and the title of the source in each footnote.
