Health and Disease: Epidemics and pandemics

Short article with definitions and videos.

Brief descriptions of epidemics and pandemics. Includes links to related articles.

Short list of the 'worst' pandemics with brief descriptions.

Headings include: Key Facts, Overview, Transmission, Signs and symptoms, Diagnosis, Treatment and vaccination, Self-care and prevention, Outbreaks, Stigma and discrimination, WHO response.

Tabs include: Current situation, U.S. Case Data, About, Signs and Symptoms, Outbreaks, how it spreads, Prevention, Vaccines, View All

Headings include: Mpox, Symptoms, Risk for people, how it spreads, Vaccination and treatment, Protective measures

Headings include: What is mpox?, How is mpox spread?, What are the symptoms of mpox in children?, Fast facts: mpox and children 9video), Where are children at greatest risk?, What is the best way to protect children from mpox?, How is Unicef responding?

Headings include: About mpox, Case definitions, Signs and symptoms, Transmission, Who is at risk, Prevention, Diagnosis, Treatments and vaccines, Mental health / Wellbeing support, Travelling support, Resources

This article is more advanced but is interesting and relevant to impacts of the disease beyond physical health.

Tabs include:
Overview, Prevention, Symptoms
Other links include:
Fact Sheets, Questions and answers, Databases and tools, Emergency situations, initiatives and groups, Training.

Headings include:
Overview, Symptoms and Causes, Diagnosis and Tests, Treatment and Management, Prevention

Joint statement by ILO, FAO, IFAD and WHO.

Headings include:
The pandemic impacts all aspects of society, It’s impacting progress on tackling global poverty, The investment needed is less than what it is costing the economy, Related content.

The coronavirus pandemic and restrictions have had "a severe impact" on children and young people.
That is according to a report from the Northern Ireland Commissioner for Children and Young People (NICCY).

Headings include:
Older persons, Persons with Disabilities, Youth, Families, Indigenous peoples, Sport for development and peace.

Headings include:
Key facts, Overview, Effects of the COVID-19 pandemic, Signs and symptoms, Who is at risk? Transmission, Treatment, Prevention, WHO response, The IA2030 Measles and Rubella Partnership.

Headings include:
Pre-vaccine era, Vaccine development, Measles elimination.
Links include:
FAQs, History of Vaccines: Measles timeline.

Headings include:
Check if you or your child has measles, How to look after yourself or your child, How to avoid spreading or catching measles, Complications of measles, Get vaccinated against measles.

Headings include:
Symptoms, Causes, Is measles airborne? Catching measles, Diagnosis, Treatment, Pictures, In adults, In babies, Incubation period, Types, Vs. rubella, Prevention, In pregnancy, Prognosis.

Lists and debunks vaccination myths.

Headings include:
Key facts, Symptoms, History, Epidemiology, risk factors, and disease burden, Prevention and control, Surveillance, Water and sanitation interventions, Treatment, Community engagement, Oral cholera vaccines, WHO response.

Pages include:
General information, Illness and symptoms, Sources of infection & risk factors, Diagnosis and detection, Treatment, Prevention and control, Information for specific groups, Publications, data, & statistics, Outbreak response resources, Health promotion materials, Training and education, CDC at work: Cholera, Policy & recommendations, Africa, Southeast Asia, United States, Haiti.

Headings include:
What is Cholera, Symptoms, Causes, Risk factors, Vaccine, Diagnosis, Treatment, Complications, Prevention.

Headings include:
Global overview, Drivers of the current outbreaks and challenges impacting the response, Regional overview, WHO risk assessment, WHO advice.

Headings include:
What is cholera? What makes a country cholera-endemic? How does cholera spread? If a child is infected with cholera, what are the symptoms? How is cholera treated? what can be done to prevent the spread of cholera? Are there vaccines available to prevent cholera? Where in the world are we seeing cholera outbreaks? How is UNICEF responding to these cholera outbreaks? Are we close to eliminating cholera?

Headings include:
Key facts, Overview, Transmission, Symptoms, Diagnosis, Treatment, Preventions and control, WHO response.

Headings include:
Symptoms, Treatment, Preventions, Causes, History, Risk factors.

Headings include:
Check if you're at risk of Ebola, How to avoid Ebola, Symptoms of Ebola, Treatment for Ebola.

Headings include:
Cases and outbreaks by year, Cases and outbreaks by country.

Headings include:
History of the disease, Natural reservoir, Transmission, Symptoms, Diagnosis, Treatment, Prevention, UK guidelines.

Headings include:
What is it? Why is it important? How are we helping? Facts & Figures.

Headings include:
Overview, Symptoms, Treatment.

Headings include:
Life protection through vaccination, A global milestone, Renewed call for immunization.

Headings include:
What is polio? What are the symptoms of polio? How is polio spread? Who is at risk of getting polio? How is polio prevented? How is polio diagnosed? What is the public health response to polio?

Headings include:
Symptoms and causes, Diagnosis and tests, Management and treatment, Prevention, Outlook/prognosis, Living with.

Headings and links include:
What Legacy did polio leave? What did a dime do? What role did technology play?

The stigma that Matilda is facing is not based on science.

Sections include: Overview, Explore more detailed and interactive content (Standard topics and Featured Topics), Country, regional and global profiles (data and others), Infographic, Information Sheet, More on TB

Headings include:
Overview, Symptoms, Treatment,

Headings include: Causes and how it spreads, Prevention methods, When transmission is possible, Risk factors, Resources

Overview, Symptoms and causes, Diagnosis and tests, Management and treatment, Prevention, Outlook/prognosis, Living with.

Headings include:
What is tuberculosis, Symptoms, Diagnosis, Treatment, Causes, Prevention, TB vaccine, Risk factors, Complications, Summary.

Includes sound recording of the article.

Headings include: What is a health disparity?, Racial and ethnic disparities, Medicines and health conditions, Geographic disparities, Other diparities, What prevents health equity, Treatment duration and completion, Socioeconomic factors, What CDC is doing, Partnerships, Communication and outreach, Data, Resources

Headings include:
Key facts, Signs & symptoms, Where is plague found? Diagnosing plague, Treatment, Prevention, Vaccination, Managing plague outbreaks, Surveillance and response, WHO response.

Headings include:
How Did the Black Plague Start, Symptoms of the Black Plague, How Did the Black Death Spread? Understanding the Black Death, How do you treat the Black Death? Black Plague: God’s Punishment Flagellants, How did the Black Death end? Does the Black Plague still exist?
Also includes links to related articles.

Headings include:
Key facts, The Black Death, Controlling the spread of plague, Epidemic waves across the centuries, A bacterial infection is confirmed, An international vaccine for a pandemic disease, Controlling plague in colonial India, Plague today, Find out more.

Headings include:
Overview, Trade and disease, Origins of the plague outbreak, The plague spreads (includes maps), Effects of the plague, Conclusoin.

Headings include:
Stages of plague, Infamous plagues, Plague in modern society.

Includes links to:
Questions and answers on influenza pandemics
Influenza pandemic preparedness

Includes a link to:
Global Influenza Strategy

Headings include:
What is the flu? What causes influenza? Influenza virus, How flu pandemics arise, How the flu spreads, How to prevent the flu, The history of the flu, Spanish flu pandemic, Flu vaccine: a moving target.

Includes maps, graphs and interactive data.

Headings include:
How we greet people, Thinking twice about travel, Mask-wearing and other precautions, Women in the workforce, Scientific progress, Childhood changes, The future of work.

Headings include:
The flu that swept the world, The fittest were among the most vulnerable, Death rates varied greatly across the globe, It wasn't just a respiratory disease, The pandemic transformed public health..., ...and transformed society in other ways too.

Headings include:
Key facts, Overview, Signs and symptoms, Transmission, Risk factors, Diagnosis, Prevention, Treatment, WHO Response.

Headings include:
Overview, Symptoms, Causes, Diagnosis, Treatment, Living with, Prevention.

Headings include:
What is HIV? What is AIDS? Early symptoms, Symptoms, Rash, In men, In women, AIDS symptoms, Transmission, Causes of HIV, Treatment, Medications, HIV and AIDS, Causes of AIDS, Diagnosis, Window period, Prevention, Coping, Life expectancy, Vaccine, Statistics.

Headings include:
What is HIV Stigma? What is discrimination? What are the effects of HIV stigma and discrimination? What causes HIV stigma? What can be done about HIV stigma?

Pages included:
The Global HIV and AIDS Epidemic, PEPFAR, US. Government Global HIV/AIDS activities, Global HIV/AIDS Organizations.

Headings include:
HIV/AIDS is one of the world's most fatal infections disease, The global distribution of deaths from HIV/AIDS, Is the world making progress in its fight against HIV/AIDS? The prevalence of HIV/AIDS, Tuberculosis among people living with AIDS, What can be done to prevent HIV/AIDS?

Headings include:
Overview, Symptoms, WHO response.

Headings include:
What was smallpox? Does smallpox still exist? Who did smallpox effect?

Includes links to related articles.

Includes links to related articles.

Headings include:
Empires fall, Dairymaids help create vaccines, Biological weapon concerns.

Headings include:
What is typhus? Picture, Causes, Symptoms, Treatment, Complications, Outlook, Prevention.

Headings include:
Types, Symptoms, Diagnosis, Treatment, Long-term effects, Prevention.

headings include:
Causes, Symptoms, Treatment, Risk factors, Prevention, When to see a doctor, Typhus vs. typhoid, Summary.

Includes some images.