Seeds of ChangeY7: Other resources for Mesopotamia and Egypt

Reference article with facts about Mesopotamia.

Mesopotamia timeline - includes links to further information at the bottom of the page.

Timeline includes links with definitions. The drop down menu gives other relevant links.

General information about Ancient Mesopotamia. Includes a gallery of images of artifacts

Includes: Pottery wheel / Writing / Hydraulic engineering (Irrigation) / Chariot / The plow / Textile Mills / Mass Produced Bricks / Metallurgy / Mathematics /

Includes: Maps (on clay tablets) / Cuneiform / Agriculture / Urbanization / Astrology and Horoscopes / Concept of Time / Sailboats / First Wheel / Chariot / Mathematics / Plow / Art and Architecture

Includes: Writing / The Wheel / Mathematics / Astronomy / Medicine / Technology

Includes: The Wheel / Mass-produced Ceramics / Mathematics / Time / Writing / Cylinder Seals and Envelopes / Mass Produced Bricks / Cities / The Map / The Sail

Includes: Writing / Maths and measurement / Astronomy / Transport / Mud brick making and building / Pottery / Metal and textiles

Includes: Accomplishments / Ziggurats / The Amorite Wall / Zimri-Lim's Icehouse / Synthetic Basalt / Water Clocks / A Mobile Battering Ram / Sennacherib's Aqueduct / The Na-Guage

Includes: Ram in the Thicket / King's Grave Headdress / Lapis Lazuli Collar from Death Pit / Headdress and Necklace from Royal Cemetery / Gold Cup with Long Snout / Statue of Gudea / Statue of King Ashurnasirpal II / Dying Lion Relief / Dog gypsum Relief

Join us, ancient explorers, as we head back 5,000 years through history to discover fascinating facts about Ancient Egypt, from its ancient beginnings to Egypt today…

From the earliest recorded peace treaty to ancient board games, discover 11 surprising facts about the Gift of the Nile.

Ancient Egypt was one of the greatest and most powerful civilizations in the history of the world.

Egypt was a vast kingdom of the ancient world. It was unified around 3100 B.C.E. and lasted as a leading economic and cultural influence throughout North Africa and parts of the Levant until it was conquered by the Macedonians in 332 B.C.E.

Includes: The Pyramids / Writing / Papyrus Sheets / Black Ink / The Ox-drawn Plough / The Sickle / Irrigation / Shadoof / The Calendar / Clocks / The Police / Surgical instruments / Wigs / Cosmetic makeup / Toothpaste / Mummification

Includes: Mathematics / Calendar and Clock / Government / Library / Wine / Cosmetics / Mummification / Medicine / Hieroglyphs / Pyramids

Includes: Bowling / Paper and Ink / Make-Up and Wigs / Barbers / The Calendar and Timekeeping / Tables (and other Furniture) / Toothpaste and Breath Mints / The Police / The Lock / Medicines

Includes: Writing / Papyrus Sheets / Medicine / Shipbuilding / Mathematics / Makeup / Toothpaste

Includes: Eye Makeup / Written Language / Papyrus Sheets / The Calendar / The Plow / Breath Mints / Bowling / Shave and a Haircut / The Door Lock / Toothpaste

Includes: Metal Making / Writing / Papyrus / Ink / The Ox-drawn Plow and the Sickle / Canals and irrigation Channels / The Calendar / Clocks / The Corbeled Arch / Glassmaking / Furniture / Surgical Instruments / Toothpaste /

Includes: Buildings / Ship buiolding / Papyrus Sheets / Writing / Mathematics / Makeup / Toothe care / Medicine / The Calendar / Surgical Instruments / Black ink / The Ox-drawn plough / The Sickle / Clocks / Irrigation / The Police / Shadoof / Wigs / Mummification

Except for the slaves, all ancient Egyptians wore heavy, brightly colored jewelry and it was highly valued. Not only did jewelry reflect the wealth and social status of its wearer, it was thought to help ward off evil spirits, both here and in the afterlife.